Tuesday, April 21, 2009

Jussi Jokinen Evokes His Inner Drury

.2 seconds left? To tie up the series? Against the be-all-end-all Marty Brodeur? That's the stuff that makes up Little League World Series Champions, not shootout specialists.


Here's the goal, and subsequent tame celebration from fans (I'd be flippin' shit like no other, I guess in Carolina they're used to this kinda stuff, being with the NASCAR and all) but what we don't see is Martin Brodeur's absolute meltdown. When that video comes to pass, believe me, we'll have it. We have to. We make a living...er, hobby, outta this.

WOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO! GOT IT!



Update: They asked for it. So here it is.
69.4 Contact Outside the Goal Crease - If an attacking player initiates any contact with a goalkeeper, other than incidental contact, while the goalkeeper is outside his goal crease, and a goal is scored, the goal will be disallowed.

A goalkeeper is not “fair game” just because he is outside the goal crease. The appropriate penalty should be assessed in every case where an attacking player makes unnecessary contact with the goalkeeper. However, incidental contact will be permitted when the goalkeeper is in the act of playing the puck outside his goal crease provided the attacking player has made a reasonable effort to avoid such unnecessary contact.

When a goalkeeper has played the puck outside of his crease and is then prevented from returning to his crease area due to the deliberate actions of an attacking player, such player may be penalized for goalkeeper interference. Similarly, the goalkeeper may be penalized, if by his actions outside of his crease he deliberately interferes with an attacking player who is attempting to play the puck or an opponent

Update: Oh this warrants a post from the "Situation Room" (what a joke) and they, imagine that, agreed with the ruling on the ice.
Interpretation of goalie interference rule: New Jersey at Carolina - 19:59 of the third period
04.21.2009 / 10:34 PM ET

The NHL's goalie interference rule sets a mandate to protect the goalie in the blue ice – to let the goalie do his job. In the white ice, it is a more delicate matter, including who moved into whom. The referee has one split-second look at it and it is a judgment call. NHL Hockey Operations has no video review capacity in this instance. Hockey Operations officials agreed with the call on the ice, that it looked like the goalie, Martin Brodeur, moved out toward the skater.
Oh yes, now it gets fun, and here I go stirrin' up controversy again. Is that "accidental" contact or have we got ourselves another blown call? Did Brodeur move out towards Juicy (yes, spelled like that on purpose) or did Juicy initiate the movement towards the crease? Who initiates movement in hockey? I've got a movement in my pants just thinkin' about it. Well, ahem, anyways, what say you random Googlers, what. just. happened.

Oh and don't forget, tomorrow, live blog, over at CapitalsKremlin during the game, make it happen.

4 comments:

Anonymous said...

NHL reffing is a FUCKING JOKE. It's a good thing no one watches this sports, lest someone notice how fucking bad the calls are.

Vance said...

You know, I'm going to have to look up that rule. I don't know what it is off the top of my head, the goaltender interference when the goalie is out of the crease. I'll update on that.

Anonymous said...

http://www.nhl.com/ice/page.htm?id=26480

Vance said...

I'm thoroughly disappointed no one has made a "Brodeur just found out that Langenbrunner ate his last piece of cheesecake in the locker room" joke. It's so ripe for the taking.

 
Fact: BanginPanger is not meant as an insult to the one and only Darren Pang, nor do I claim to be him. The views and opinions presented on BanginPanger are of my own, and no other namesake of the site, the NHL, Buffalo Sabres, Washington Capitals, or anyone else.